Defection: Ebonyi Senators, Reps Disown Umahi

Federal legislators representing Ebonyi State on Wednesday disowned Governor David Umahi over his decision to leave the Peoples Democratic Party for the All Progressives Congress.

Leader of the Ebonyi PDP caucus Senator Sam Egwu addressed the media in Abuja, saying none of the lawmakers would defect with Umahi.

The briefing was attended by all the Ebonyi State federal legislators including Senator Obinna Ogba, Senator Mike Nnachi, Sylvester Ogbaga, Igariwey Enwo, Chukwuma Nwazunku, Edwin Anayo and Livinus Makwe.

Senate Minority Leader Enyinnaya Abaribe was also at the event.

“For the sake of clarity, we wish to state that not a single member of the Ebonyi State PDP caucus of the National Assembly is defecting to the APC,” Egwu said.

He added: “Indeed, if there is any Ebonyi person who should remain eternally grateful to the PDP, that individual ought to be Governor David Umahi.

READ :  We Are Ready To Re-Arraign Orji Kalu Immediately - EFCC

“This is a man who was appointed the Ebonyi State Chairman of the PDP, made deputy governor of a PDP administration, and was elected for two terms under the banner of the PDP.

“As Governor, his two younger brothers were elected to principal offices of the PDP; one (Mr Austine Umahi) as the National Vice Chairman (South East) and another (Mr Maxwell Umahi) as the Deputy State Chairman of the PDP.”

Tags : DefectionEbonyi SenatorsRepsUmahi

Leave a Reply

Enable Notifications    Ok No thanks